The Prince Albert Parkland Regional Health Authority board of directors is appointed by the Minister of Health. The board of directors holds nine regular meetings annually – 7 held in Prince Albert, and the other 2 rotating among other communities within the RHA.  

For a schedule of meetings, as well as agendas and background materials go to Board Meeting Materials.

The board of directors has six key areas of responsibility: 

  • Strategic planning; 
  • Fiscal management and reporting; 
  • Relationships; 
  • Quality management; 
  • Monitoring, evaluation and reporting; and 
  • Management and performance. 

The RHA board of directors follow the Regional Health Services Act. In addition the board of directors has their own bylaws and governance policies. 

RHA Bylaws    RHA Board Policies

    Brenda Abrametz Chairperson

    Brenda Abrametz Brenda Abrametz was appointed to the RHA board of directors in 2009, serving as vice-chairperson. She was appointed board chairperson in 2013. Brenda is a business owner who also manages two other small business offices. With her spare time, Ms. Abrametz is active within her church, community associations and is currently a board member/ treasurer with the North East Regional Appeal Board and the Northern Golf Classic.

      Bevra Fee Vice-Chairperson

      Bevra Fee Bevra Fee was appointed to the RHA board of directors in May 2012 and the Vice-Chairperson in October 2015. Bevra’s day job is in economic development, working in her chunk of Saskatchewan, along Highway No. 3 from Spiritwood through to Shellbrook. She currently is a member of the boards for the Northern Lakes Economic Development Corp., Saskatchewan Party, Saskatchewan Economic Development Association., and the council for RM #496 Spiritwood. She volunteers with various organizations, including the Lions, 4-H, and Chamber of Commerce. She lives with her family in the Spiritwood area.

        Merv Bender Authority Member

        Merv Bender Merv Bender is from Prince Albert. He was appointed to the RHA board of directors in October 2015. He has recently retired as the Executive Director for the Prince Albert and District Community Service Centre. His current involvements include his church, both at a local and synod level, as well as continued involvement with the development of the Saskatchewan Assured Income for Disability program (SAID).

          Don Code Member

          Don Code Don Code was appointed the board of directors in 2006. He has served as the chairperson of the Finance and Audit Committee since 2006, and as chairperson of the Quality and Safety Committee since 2012. Don retired as Code is a branch manager for Conexus Credit Union in Prince Albert in 2014. He is past president and current member of the Credit Union Managers' Association. He served on the board of St. David's Anglican Church, and as treasurer for the Diocese of Saskatchewan. He was appointed to the Prince Albert Parkland Regional Health Authority board in 2006. Don is also involved in the Canadian Academy of Senior Advisors as a Certified Senior Advisor (CSA).

            Larry Fladager Authority Member

            Larry Fladager Larry Fladager is from Prince Albert. He was appointed to the RHA board of directors in October 2015. Larry was recently appointed as the Chief Executive Officer of the Prince Albert and District Chamber of Commerce. Previously, he served 28 years in senior management with the Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Sciences and Technology (now SaskPolytechnic). He has been involved in municipal politics as reeve, as well as on several boards and committees. Larry has a degree in Administration from the University of Regina, and has achieved recognition has a Project Management Professional for his work in Information Technology and facilities development. Larry and his wife live on a ranch just north of Prince Albert.

              Marcie Kreese Authority Member

              Marcie Kreese Marcie Kreese is semi-retired and live on the farm with her husband in the Rural Municipality of Leask. She has spent six years as a councilor for the Rural Municipality of Leask. She volunteers on the local recreation board and is involved in the building project for a new library/museum, as well as being involved in many church activities. She has been involved in three Rapid Process Improvement Workshops with the Health Region as family/patient advisor, with one in the surgery unit and two in long-term care. This has confirmed her interest in all aspects of health care. Marcie was appointed to the RHA board of directors in November 2013.

                Hugh Otterson Authority Member

                Hugh Otterson Hugh Otterson is from Canwood. Hugh was appointed to the RHA board in May 2012.

                  Shirley Schwab Authority Member

                  Shirley Schwab Shirley Schwab is from Big River. Shirley was appointed to the RHA board in May 2012.

                    Mona Selanders Authority Member

                    Mona Selanders Mona Selanders is a teacher by profession and hotelier by choice, and brings to the board many years of management experience with an emphasis on customer service. During her years in the hospitality business, Mona has assisted in creating organizations such as TISASK, Tourism Saskatchewan and the Prince Albert Destination Marketing Fund. As a volunteer and mother, Mona contributed to the E.A. Rawlinson Centre and the Girl Guides organization. She was appointed to the Prince Albert Parkland Regional Health Authority in November 2013. She looks forward to bringing her experiences in education and operations together through her work with board of directors.

                      Alan Tanchuk Authority Member

                      Alan Tanchuk Alan Tanchuk is from Hafford. He was appointed to the RHA board of directors in October 2015. Alan Tanchuk has been involved in municipal administration for more than 30 years, most recently as the Administrator for the Rural Municipality of Redberry No. 435. He has been involved with the Hafford and District Fire board, Hafford Recreation board, and Redberry Regional Park board. He was a founding member of the Redberry Pelican Project, as well as the Hafford Small Business Loans Association. He has also served on the boards of the Northwest Community Futures, Community Futures Saskatchewan, and the Community Initiatives Fund. He has also been a member of the Hafford and Blaine Lake Primary Health Care Committee.

                      Upcoming Events

                      No events to display

                      View All Upcoming Events

                      News Releases

                      Find out the latest news in PAPHR.

                      Read more